CHEY

PAINTER

MY APPROACH IN PAINTING

"Plastic creation has meaning and interest only insofar as it takes charge of the past and the present and does not fall back on questions of means and virtuosity; and the work, whatever its materiality, must be thoughts and affects immediately visible and comprehensible to all. " Philippe Dagen, critical article, Le Monde, August 15, 2014.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

From a creative and recreational hobby practiced as a teenager, painting became when I retired in 2004, an exciting and fascinating activity.

The frequentation of numerous workshops, the courses received from several artists, the frequent visits to exhibitions in France or abroad, allowed me to improve not only my technique and my practice, but especially to take a new look at the world of Art.

Figurative painting to celebrate reality that I like, but also figuration tinged with abstraction and sometimes downright an abstraction stimulated by the medium used.

By painting as by drawing, I forget the rest of the world and concentrate on what I am trying to represent. My last work always seems to me the best because I am still under the spell and the pleasure of the moment spent performing it.

CHEY

PEINTRE

MA DÉMARCHE EN PEINTURE

" La création plastique n'a de sens et d'intérêt que dans la mesure où elle prend en charge le passé et le présent et ne se replie pas sur des questions de moyens et de virtuosité ; et l'oeuvre, quelle que soit sa matérialité, doit être pensées et affects devenus immédiatement visibles et compréhensibles à tous." Philippe Dagen, article critique, Le Monde,  15 aout 2014. 

 

De loisir créatif et récréatif pratiqué dès l’adolescence, la peinture est devenue à mon départ pour la retraite en 2004, une activité enthousiasmante et passionnante.

 

La fréquentation de nombreux ateliers, les cours reçus de plusieurs artistes, les fréquentes visites d’expositions en France ou à l’étranger, m’ont permis  d’améliorer non seulement ma technique et ma pratique, mais surtout de porter un nouveau regard sur le monde de l’Art.

 

Peinture figurative pour célébrer un réel qui me plait, mais aussi figuration teintée d'abstraction et parfois carrément une abstraction stimulée par le médium employé.

 

Par la peinture comme par le dessin, j'oublie le reste du monde et me concentre sur ce que j'essaie de représenter. Ma dernière œuvre me paraît toujours la meilleure car je suis encore sous le charme et le plaisir du moment passé à l'exécuter.